Sci Fi Quotes – Iain M Banks

“I looked away from his tired grey eyes, down at the gun, quiet in my fist, small screen glowing faintly,  Betrayed by my own skin, my own touch. I thought about that hospital bill again. I felt like crying, but that wasn’t the done thing amongst men here, and what could I say ? I was a woman, I was Culture. But I had renounced those things, and now I am a man, and now I am here in the Free City of Vreccis, where nothing is free..”

 

From A Gift From The Culture by Iain M Banks

Interzone Magaine, Issue 20 (1987)

Leave a Reply

